

Minutes of the 12th Annual General Meeting of the Association of Professional Heritage Practitioners (Western Cape) held at the Cape Institute for Architecture, Cape Town on Wednesday 27th May 2015 at 17h30

1. Welcome

Chairperson Mike Scurr welcomed everyone.

2. Attendees

Trevor Thorold, Cindy Postlethwayt, Raymond Smith, David Gibbs, Bruce Eitzen, Sally Titlestad, Emmylou Bailey, Claire Abrahamse, Stephen Townsend, Mike Scurr, Lize Malan, Sarah Winter, Jenna Lavin, Antonia Malan, Nicholas Baumann, Peter Büttgens, Fabio Todeschini, Melanie Attwell, Ashley Lillie, Stefan de Kock, Janine de Waal, Katie Smuts, Chris Snelling, Frik Vermuelen, Kobus van Wyk, Kirstin van Tonder-Pieterse, Neil Schwartz, Andrew Berman, Graham Jacobs, Guy Thomas and Adelaide Combrink

3. Apologies

William Martinson, Hennie Vos, Yasmin Mayat, Henry Paine, Dr Elzet Albertyn, Karin Dugmore Strom, Nicky Alexander, Yvonne Liebman, Gerrie Horn, Nicholas Wiltshire, Kathy Dumbrell, Andre Vercueil, Tim Hart, Louise van Riet, Jayson Clark, Quahnita Samie, Ursula Rigby, Bridget O'Donoghue and Andre Pentz.

4. Approval of Minutes 2014 AGM

The minutes were approved – proposed by Claire Abrahamse and seconded by Cindy Postlethwayt (Addendum A)

5. Chairpersons Annual Report

The Chairperson gave a verbal presentation of his report (Addendum B)

- 2015 is an election year even though in 2014, four ExCo members resigned and four new ExCo members were appointed
- The Chairperson thanked the ExCo members from 2013/2014 and 2014/2015 for their time and contribution to APHP
- The outgoing ExCo focussed its energy on Professionalisation as a priority and this has taken up most of the time of the ExCo
- The Chairperson thanked Sarah Winter for taking up the role of Treasurer
- Muneerah Karriem has been assisting the ExCo for the last six months and has been an invaluable addition to the ExCo with regard to following through on administrative matters
- The Chairperson thanked the members of the Accreditation Committee for their time and effort
- 6 new members were welcomed this past year including 4 PHP's and 2 candidates. In addition, 2 Candidates were accredited as PHP's.
- Mentorship Program 8 candidates are currently placed in the mentorship programme.
- The Chairperson thanked Guy Thomas for his assistance with the APHP website
- The Chairperson thanked members for their contributions this past year

It was agreed by members that the Chairpersons report can be adopted – proposed by Ashley Lillie and seconded by Peter Buttgens.

6. Treasurers Annual Report

The Treasurer gave a verbal report on the financial expenditure of APHP (Addendum C)

- The main proposals are:
 - o An increase in membership fees to R600.00/annum
 - An increase in the payment for the Administrative Assistant to R3,000.00/month considering the time and effort required in the position

DISCUSSION

- Antonia Malan raised a concern regarding the membership fees of retired members of APHP
- Katie Smuts queried whether retired non-consulting members would fall in the same category as non-consulting members.
- The Chairperson indicated that this is mentioned in his Chairpersons report and that this division between 'consulting' and 'non-consulting' is no longer considered necessary and has been dropped as per a decision of ExCo
- Katie Smuts indicated her concern at the proposed new fees, and that this cost may be beyond the budget of the new members that APHP is hoping to attract
- Jenna Lavin pointed out that the increase was proposed in order to build capital to actively pursue professionalisation
- The Chairperson encouraged members to put pressure on the ExCo to provide the membership with value for money
- Stephen Townsend indicated that relatively, R600/annum is a small amount for membership to a professional organisation compared to other organisations such as SACAP
- Cindy Postlethwayt noted that APHP has not raised its fees in a number of years and it is high time that this happens
- Ashley Lillie indicated that he is paying more than double this for accreditation as a friend of the CIA.

It was agreed by the members that the proposals and the report are adopted – proposed by Melanie Atwell and seconded by Antonia Malan

7. Professionalisation - Way Forward

Stephen Townsend gave a verbal presentation on the progress made with regard to Professionalisation.

The conclusion of the process thus far as per the recommendations taken at the Conference on Professionalisation held in March 2015

- The establishment of a working group separate to ExCo to pursue the process required for professionalization eg. to interact with various bodies such as SAHRA, DAC, NHC, EAPASA, Universities etc.
- APHP host an Annual Conference on various issues relevant to Professional Heritage Practitioners.

DISCUSSION

- A member queried whether the existing membership of APHP would carry over to the new professional body once it is established
- Stephen Townsend indicated that the ExCo has various opinions on this however issues such as this will be worked out through the process
- A member questioned the support provided by organisations or members in other provinces for APHP to pursue this process
- Stephen Townsend indicated that ExCo hopes that there is broad support for this process, but part of the working group's mandate will be to identify stakeholders outside of APHP membership
- Trevor Thorold indicated that there aren't any other professional heritage associations in South Africa other than APHP
- A member raised concern at the insertion of the professionalization of heritage practitioners under the DEA as opposed to DAC
- Stephen Townsend indicated that due to the integrated environmental management system, a fair proportion of heritage work is done through NEMA. Even so, the working group will determine the feasibility of this approach as soon as possible.

It was agreed by the members that ExCo establish a working group to assist ExCo to pursue the process of professionalization – proposed by Fabio Todeschini and seconded by Peter Buttgens.

8. Election of Office-Bearers 2015/2016

2015 is an election year for APHP ExCo

- Claire Abrahamse is not standing for election
- Katie Smuts and Cindy Postlethwayt have been nominated as new ExCo members
- Sarah Winter, Stephen Townsend, Mike Scurr, Lize Malan and Jenna Lavin have been nominated for ExCo once again

The members voted in favour of the above mentioned nominated members being elected to serve on EXCO for the term 2015/2016.

9. Any other business

Trevor Thorold thanked Mike Scurr for his leadership as Chairperson Cindy Postlethwayt thanked Claire Abrahamse for her time and energy on ExCo

10. Closure

The meeting adjourned at 19.30