

Minutes of the 15th Annual General Meeting of the Association of Professional Heritage Practitioners (Western Cape) held at the Cape Institute for Architecture, Cape Town on Wednesday, 30th May 2018 at 17h30

1. Welcome

Chairperson Jenna Lavin welcomed everyone.

2. Attendees

Jenna Lavin, Mike Scurr, Cindy Postlethwayt, Melanie Attwell, Emmylou Bailey, Louise van Riet, Ursula Rigby, Stefan de Kock, Raymond Smith, Katie Smuts, Frik Vermeulen, Walter Peters, Antonia Malan, Nicholas Wiltshire, Lita Webley, Wendy Wilson, Denise Boers, Constance Pansegrouw, John Rennie, Neil Schwartz, Avril Paterson, Janine de Waal, Christine Havenga, Adolfo Linares, Enrica van der Linden, Chris Murphy, Andrew Berman, Bridget O'Donoghue.

Proxies

Mike Scurr on behalf of Brendan Hart Mike Scurr on behalf of Claire Abrahamse Mike Scurr on behalf of William Martinson Melanie Attwell on behalf of Chris Snelling Melanie Attwell on behalf of Sarah Winter Melanie Attwell on behalf of Nicolas Baumann Jenna Lavin on behalf of Stephen Townsend Jenna Lavin on behalf of Liana Jansen

Apologies

Vanessa Ruhlig, Anne-Marie Fick, Andrew Hall, Ashley Lillie, Stephen Townsend, Hennie Vos, David Gibbs, Brendan Hart, Henry Paine, Sally Titlestad, Andre Vercueil, David van Coller, William Martinson, Trevor Thorold, Bruce Eitzen, Chris Snelling, Claire Abrahamse, Brendan Hart, Tim Hart, Jayson Orton, Sarah Winter, Laura Robinson, Mark Bell, Gerrie Horn, Karin Dugmore-Strom, Liana Jansen, Nicolas Baumann and Steven Boers.

3. Approval of Minutes 2017 AGM

Proposed S De Kock seconded L van Riet. Minutes approved.

4. Chairpersons Annual Report

J Lavin presented the chairman's report (See attached). J Lavin outlined the APHP Vision and Mission Statement.

5. Treasurers Annual Report

L van Riet presented the Treasurer's Report. (See attached). Adoption proposed C Postlethwayt seconded E Bailey. Report approved.

6. Revised Accreditation Guidelines

J Lavin presented the revised accreditation guidelines' Floor opened up for discussion and queries. C. Postlethwayt responded to queries and clarified the amended requirements.

6.1. Adoption of vision and mission

Proposed Nic Wiltshire seconded Katie Smuts. Vision and Mission. Adopted.

6.2 Revised Accreditation Guidelines

Proposed: Frik Vermeulen seconded B O Donoghue. Adopted.

6.3 E Bailey presented proposed new APHP logo

After discussion it was resolved to submit APHP concept to an experienced graphic designer for input.

7. Candidate Members path to full accreditation

Candidate membership and the path to full accreditation outlined. Candidate members present introduced themselves.

8. Proposed Roadshows for 2018 and Conference for 2019

J Lavin outlined a proposed roadshow and proposals for a heritage conference in 2019, requesting ideas. It was agreed that the proposed theme for the Conference would be: "**Decolonising Western Cape Heritage**"

9. Proposed motions

J Lavin proposed the investigation of an exam for all APHP membership. Adoption proposed by Antonia Malan seconded by E Bailey. Motion adopted.

10. Tribute

M Attwell paid tribute to the late Professor Fabio Todeschini on behalf of APHP.

11. Presentation.

J Duggan made a slide presentation on her work in developing the West Coast Fossil Park Visitors Centre.

12. Closure

The meeting adjourned at 6.45.