

Association of Professional Heritage Practitioners

Minutes of the 16th Annual General Meeting of the Association of Professional Heritage Practitioners (Western Cape) held at the Cape Institute for Architecture, Cape Town on Wednesday, 29<sup>th</sup> May 2019 at 17h30

#### 1. Welcome

Chairperson Jenna Lavin welcomed everyone.

## 2. Attendees

Andrew Berman, Anthony Wain, Antonia Malan, Bridget O'Donoghue, Cindy Postlethwayt, Chris Murphy, Emmylou Bailey, Frik Vermeulen, Janine de Waal, Jenna Lavin, Johan Malherbe, John Rennie, Karin Dugmore-Strom, Katie Smuts, Louise van Riet, Margot van Heerden, Melanie Attwell, Mike Scurr, Neil Schwartz, Raymond Smith, Stephen Dugmore, Stephen Townsend, Trevor Thorold, Ursula Rigby, Walter Peters, Wendy Wilson

## **Proxies**

Jenna Lavin on behalf of Nicolas Wiltshire Jenna Lavin on behalf of Bryan Wintermeyer Mike Scurr on behalf of Brendan Hart

## **Apologies**

Adolfo Linares, Andrew Hall, Brendan Hart, Bruce Eitzen, Bryan Wintermeyer, Chris Snelling, Claire Abrahamse, Constance Pansegrouw, David Gibbs, David van Coller, Denise Boers, Gavin McLachlan, Gerrie Horn, Hennie Vos, Henry Paine, Jonathan Stone, Jayson Orton, Liana Jansen, Mary Lange, Naomi Roux, Nicholas Baumann, Nicholas Wiltshire, Stefan de Kock, William Martinson, Yasmin Mayat, Yvonne Leibman.

## 3. Approval of Minutes 2018 AGM

- Adoption proposed by Emmylou Bailey and seconded by Melanie Atwell
- The Minutes were approved.

# 4. Chairperson's Annual Report

Jenna Lavin presented the chairman's report (See attached).

## 5. Treasurers Annual Report

- Louise van Riet presented the Treasurer's Report. (See attached).
- Adoption proposed by Katie Smuts and seconded Cindy Postlethwayt.
- The 2019 Budget was approved.

# 6. Nomination of new office bearers 2019/2020

- Melanie Atwell, Stefan de Kock and Mike Scurr were not standing for election, and were thanked by the chair for their time on ExCo
- Claire Abrahamse, Wouter Fourie [Gauteng] and Gavin McLachlan [Eastern Cape] have been nominated as new ExCo members;
- Jenna Lavin, Emmylou Bailey, Ursula Rigby and Louise van Riet have been nominated for ExCo once again.
- As no additional nominations being received from the floor, the meeting approved the above nominations to serve on ExCo for the term 2019/2020.

## 7. APHP Logo launch

- Emmylou Bailey explained the new logo, which had been reworked since it was first proposed at the 2018 AGM;
- ExCo had approached a graphic designer to propose suitable designs, but this proved to be unsatisfactory and costly;
- The APHP Members who had indicated concerns regarding the proposed logo after the 2018 AGM had been approached for input;
- The logo as finalised is a neutral design comprising various elements symbolising the aspects of heritage;
- Trevor Thorold remarked on the appropriateness of the imperfection of the open circle

# 8. Anson Square Judgement

- At the 2018 APHP Conference, a panel discussion between HWC's Legal Advisor (Penny Meyer) and Mr Richard Summers (lawyer with vast heritage experience) proved to be very insightful
- From the panel discussion it was noted that more clarity is required regarding the meaning of "Change of character" in section 38(1) of the NHRA
- A workshop with several experienced practitioners was held to discuss the meaning and interpretation of "Change of character"
- The team is writing up Practice Guidelines for members.

## 9. Proposed motions

No motions were proposed.

#### 10. Other business

- Cindy Postlethwayt stated that it was important to engage with membership around the question of professionalisation, rather than only reporting back debate, discussion and communication is essential in taking this further;
- Cindy Postlethwayt congratulated the organisers of the successful conference, and noted that there should be reflection on why more non-members than APHP members attended; the conference outcomes should be discussed with membership;

- Neil Schwartz queried whether the minutes of the quarterly meetings with the PPDF could be circulated to members; Jenna Lavin agreed to find out and action.
- Stephen Townsend noted the importance of EAPASA being the professional registration body, much like SACAP
  for architects, and that the environmental sector was a natural fit for heritage practitioners; EAPASA had
  progressed the professionalisation process considerably and it would be opportune for the heritage profession
  to take advantage of this;
- Karin Dugmore-Strom noted concerns regarding the process of handing over professional registration of heritage practitioners to EAPASA. It was noted that this process still has a long way to go before this is a concern.

#### 11. Presentation.

Anthony Wain made a presentation on his landscape work in World Heritage Sites in Zanzibar and Kabul. Afghanistan entitled: "Searching for common ground in the Gardens of the Past" Landscape Architect, Anthony Wain - Zanzibar's Historic Seafront UNESCO World Heritage Site & A Peoples Park in Kabul, Afghanistan."

#### 12. Closure

The meeting adjourned at 19.30.